The Cricketer Cup
AGM 2013 and Agenda
Written by Rick Johnson   
The 2013 AGM will be held on Tuesday 19th November at 19:00 in The Boardroom at Royal and Sun Alliance, One Plantation Place, 30 Fenchurch Street, London EC3M 3BD. The agenda for the 2013 AGM can be found here
2014 draw
Here is the draw for 2014. To down load as a PDf or view just click here
Lancing win Trophy

Lancing Rovers won the Cricketer Trophy in an excellent game played at Gerrards Cross CC. St Georges were inserted and when they found themselves at 61-5, this seemed a wise decision. But St George's fought back with skipper Giles Henderson contributing 47. He was well supported by Cox (26) and in the final few overs, Stanier made a useful 35 to push old Georgians total to a respectable 211-9.

In reply Lancing started porrly and fell to 8-2, but Green (51) and Campbell (71) steadied the ship and a match winning partnersip at the finish from captain Salameh(21) and Hanley (23) saw the Rovers home with 7 overs to spare for the loss of 6 wkts.

Tonbridge win
The 18th of August 2013 saw Wimbledon Cricket Club host the Cricketer Cup Final for the first time in its history on a beautiful late summer's day. The ground looked resplendent and throughout the course of the day the buzz was palpable as fans unwaveringly registered their appreciation of the cricket. Those watching were treated to complimentary champagne from the kind sponsors Lanson whilst children could enjoy the bouncy castle next door to the champagne stand. The competition sponsors Herbal Life were also on hand to give healthy advice to those who need to do a little more than a few bounces on the bouncy castle to shed those pounds!
The Final has only been held at seven different venues, so it was an important day in the life of the competition and the cricket between the Old Tonbridgians and Old Cranleighans did not disappoint. This was perhaps no surprise given the talent on show with seven players having played or currently playing first class cricket and a number with county 2nd team caps. The only oddity was the 80 or so extras conceded between the two sides; perhaps a sign of nerves getting the better of some.
The Cranleighans won the toss and elected to bat. Seren Waters and Brad Scriven started the innings hastily and with aplomb, but progress stuttered somewhat when Waters was caught for 17 and the middle order wobbled around Brad Scriven. Tom Crump's score of 23 was the only contribution of any significance from the remaining batsmen and wickets tumbled consistently throughout the innings. The Cranleighans could only amass 218 for 9 after their quota of overs, but if Brad Scriven had not been run out for a very respectable 82 the story could well have been different. The pick of the Tonbridgians bowlers was Howick who returned figures of 3 for 51 from his 9 overs.
The Tonbridgians will have settled down for lunch pleased with their efforts and confident of their chances of lifting the trophy for the fifteenth time. This feeling is likely to have been strengthened on discovering that Seren Waters, who had flown in especially for the final, was too unwell to take the field and therefore could not bowl his quota of leg spin. Although throughout their innings the Tonbridgians were never behind the run rate, wickets did continue to fall almost equally to all bowlers. This kept the Cranleighans in with enough of a chance to make it exciting viewing for the 400 or so spectators at the ground. However Fabian Cowdrey remained steadfast until the end and his innings of 84* proved to be the difference between the two teams. He saw the Old Tonbridgians home with two wickets in hand in the 48th over. It was therefore Anthony Shales, as captain, who raised the Cup with his team on the occasion of the 46th Cricketer Cup Final.
Old Cranleighans 218-9*
Old Tonbridgians 221-8
*denotes side batting first.

Thanks to Herbalife for sponsoring the competition and Lanson Champagne for providing the spectators with complimentary bubbly.

A wonderful day and something to add to next year’s diary.
Trophy semi-final results
Written by Frank Russell   

The final this year will be between St Geoge's Weybridge and Lancing Rovers

Scores: Old Georgians 224, Old Hurstjohnians 218; Denstone Wanderers 230-6, Lancing Rovers 231-6. The final will be played at Gerrards Cross CC on Sunday 11 August, all welcome

All the season's results

<< Start < Prev 1 2 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 2